Muses Trio’s 10th International Women’s Day event, Fire Dances, forms a compelling emotional narrative of environmental tragedy and regeneration. Katy Abbott’s Music for Demons’ creates an unsettled opening, followed by Natalie Williams’ powerful depiction of fires raging across Australia in The Burning Land. The world premiere of Fire Dances also reflects on the devastating 2019-2020 bushfires, showcasing eight Australian women composers representing every state and territory of our nation. Renewal is represented by the vibrant notes of hope and transformation in Pale Yellow and Brilliant Blue (Jennifer Higdon). Featured artist Margaret Fredrickson’s portraits of the composers will illuminate the performance.

Can't attend in person? Livestream the concert!


View Digital Program


Muses Trio are some of Australia’s leading and most exciting musicians in contemporary classical music, known for their edgy, spine tingling and virtuosic performance style: Christa Powell (violin), Louise King (cello) and Therese Milanovic (piano). Muses Trio celebrate music composed by women, performed by women, and focus on bringing this relatively unknown, yet vastly deserving collection of works to the stage and enthralled audiences.
Discovering, inspiring, collaborating, commissioning, connecting and supporting creative women to pursue and share artistic excellence drives the passion and impetus of their artistic focus. They have released three albums: The Spirit and the MaidenCelebrating Clara, and Music for Calm and Catharsis, and began recording Women of Note for ABC Classic. Together they have celebrated ten seasons, with performances across Brisbane, Sunshine Coast, Northern NSW, Canberra, Sydney Fringe Festival, and Bundaberg’s Milbi Festival. In 2019 they began recording the first installment of their album with ABC Classic. In 2020, they received the ABC Fresh Start Fund to commission and record Fire Dances for ABC Classic, comprising of a short dance from a women composer in each Australian state and territory, reflecting on their experiences of the 2019-2020 devastating bushfire season. 
Music for Demons 2010  (World premiere of this setting for violin, cello, piano) by Katy Abbott

The Burning Land 2020 (Sonata for cello and piano) by Natalie Williams

Fire Dances 2020 (World premiere performance)

  1. Haze for Days by Nat Bartsch                            
  2. Haze by Olivia Davies                          
  3. Crowning Dance by Natalie Williams                    
  4. Wall of Flames by Maria Grenfell             
  5. Fire Storm by Hilary Kleinig                          
  6. In the Embers’ Path by Elena Kats-Chernin                 
  7. Cycads after Fire by Cathy Applegate                    
  8. Will’o’Wisp by Isabella Gerometta     

Pale Yellow. 2003 by Jennifer Higdon 

Brilliant Blue (Australian premiere performance) by  Jennifer Higdon


About 2022 Live at UQ Concert Series

The University of Queensland, School of Music is proud to present our Concert Series for 2022. In reflecting the School's role in the broader South-East Queensland community, we have designed a diverse and exciting program. With established international and national artists performing, as well as our own emerging student artists, this year is set to be a vibrant, creative, and energetic time at the UQ School of Music. We look forward to connecting with you, as you explore this concert series, listen to our streamed and recorded concerts, and visit us at the St Lucia campus or browse through our website


Watch previous concerts 


Nickson Room